Not Exactly Writer’s Block

Here we go. You may be thinking, why did she take on this challenge if the last day of November was going to be met with such glee? Does she not like to write?

Well, I do love to write. And I do write almost every day, even when I’m not posting something on my blog. If I’m not writing, I’m doing something else creative like painting or knitting.

I’ve blogged off and on for the last 7 years or so, and I think this is the first time that I have published a blog post every day for 30 days. I’ve thought about it, but this exercise has shown me a thing or two.

I love a challenge. Once I get past a certain point, I’m not going to quit unless there are circumstances beyond my control. Life happens. And this challenge, for me this year, was oh, so doable.

But the last 3 or 4 days, I’ve really struggled and searched for what I want to say, and the pressure that I MUST POST has become a negative rather than a positive. I feel like I am throwing up a post, just to have a post there, and have not given much thought, or editing for that matter, to what I’m writing.

The bottom line, I want to write here, on this blog, when I feel I have something that I really want to share.

Anyway (I used to start sentences with this word a lot, not that long ago), anyway, how about some statistics just for fun.

There is the challenge that one can write a 50,000 word novel in one month It’s called NaNoWriMo, and is a national writing project that began in 1999. NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. The organizers of NaNoWriMo, a 501(c)(3) since 2005, believe that stories matter. I happen to think it’s a wonderful thing, but is not one I’ve ever participated in. Maybe next year.

There’s a National Blog Posting Month challenge in November as well. Kind of like this one from Yeah Write, but more general. Some gluttons for punishment do all 3 of these challenges, and probably more that I don’t even know about.

So. My statistics.

I posted everyday. It adds up to 7354 words and 32 pictures.

Peace!

Leave a Reply

