Best Soup Ever

I would first like to note that this is in no way, shape or form a cooking blog. I am a competent cook, but I find cooking really gets in the way of things that I want to do. I’ve been known to get annoyed that my husband finds it necessary to have dinner every night. EVERY night. The nerve.

Still. Every now and then I come across a recipe that is so delicious that I am compelled to share. This Chicken Bacon Wild Rice Soup is one such recipe. Click on the name and you will find the blog from which I originally pinned the recipe. The list of ingredients follows. The ones in red are changes that I made.

  • 1 quart chicken broth (original calls for 3 cans. not a huge change, I just prefer to buy the quart size box o’broth)
  • 2 cups water
  • ½ cup wild rice (here I would like to point out that “wild rice” confuses me. I was brought up with Uncle Ben’s rice mix in a box. Now there are so many choices. This time I bought 2 kinds rice at Whole Foods in their bulk section… and eyeballed the amount. 1 was a pinkish florally kind, and the other was royal purple rice… not its exact name, but I didn’t write that down)
  • ½ cup finely chopped green onion (I used 1 bunch and didn’t measure)
  • smallish carrot pieces (if desired. I added these and would recommend 2-4 carrots depending on how much you like carrots in your soup. Or leave them out. In the picture you are looking at 2 average size carrots.)
IMG_20151205_105634403
Everything but the broth

You dump all of the above in a large saucepan (what I call my Dutch oven), bring it to a boil, reduce heat and cover, cooking until the rice is tender. About 30-45 minutes.

  • ¼ cup butter (original calls for ½ cup butter or marg, and I’m not worried about this being low fat or anything but a ½ cup sounds excessive.

Melt the butter in a medium saucepan.

  • 8 oz package of mushrooms, quartered (my addition. Totally optional)

When the butter is melted, dump in the mushrooms, stirring them around until they look almost done.

  • ⅓ cup all-purpose flour (original calls for ¾ cup. Seemed excessive)
  • ½ tsp salt (I used Kosher)
  • ½ tsp poultry seasoning.
  • ⅛ tsp pepper (or whatever comes out of the pepper grinder and looks like enough)

Dump the above over the butter/mushrooms and stir until the mushrooms are coated. Real cooks, this is probably not the right way to do it, but it works for me.

  • 2 cups half and half

Gradually stir the half and half into the butter/mushroom/flour mixture, cooking until slightly thickened.

  • cubed or shredded cooked chicken or turkey (not so much a change here as a comment — original calls for 1-½ cups, but that never seems like enough to me. Also, unless you happen to have some leftover chicken or turkey around you will have to cook some. Ahem, that would usually be me. I cooked about 1-½ pounds of boneless chicken breasts by roasting them at 350 deg F for about 30-ish minutes. Use your favorite method of cooking them. Or use some other meat or meat substitute.)
  • 8 slices of bacon, crisply cooked and crumbled. I only had 6 slices this time, and used my favorite method of cooking the bacon — my husband offered, and I said, Sure!
IMG_20151205_121723276
Half and half/mushrooms on left, broth/chicken/bacon and everything else on right

Add the chicken and bacon to the broth/rice/carrot mixture. Add your creamy half and half mix with the yummy mushrooms into the broth/etc mixture, stirring it well. Do not boil.

Stir this every once in a while for at least 30 minutes on low. The longer the soup heats, the more it will thicken. Mine is hanging out in the fridge until we get home from Christmas tree shopping, at which point we will turn on the SEC Championship game, and while it pains me, I will root for Alabama over Florida. When the game starts, I’ll put the soup on the burner to reheat, letting it simmer until about half-time.

I don’t have a huge repertoire of recipes that I use, so this may not be entirely accurate, I passionately believe that this is the best soup ever!

2 thoughts on “Best Soup Ever

Leave a Reply

