Crush

Burning through the depths of my soul,

Your poisonous presence so toxic

Triggers emotions that torment and crush.

 

As my heart threatens to implode, crush;

A bright, tiny ember in my soul

Flickers and flames to fight the toxic

 

You.  The shining torch rising against you, toxic

creature, filled with lies meant to crush;

So powerful now is the rage within my soul.

 

Desire glowing, oh my soul, threatened no more from the toxic, my lips long for other lips to crush.

An example of a this month’s poetry slam style, the tritina.

One thought on “Crush

  1. Your use of the word crush was not what I expected (i.e. crush on a boy). It’s one thing I enjoy about this form – the exploration of the multiple meanings and uses of the three words.

    Like

Leave a Reply

