Oscar Challenge Review*: Braveheart

*Review = Random commentary

There is a good reason that I had not seen the last 12 Best Picture winners that are on my list. They are all (but 2) violent. I’m not certain about The Last Emperor, but I feel like the odds are good that there is a battle or 2. Swords are especially offensive to my delicate constitution.

braveheartSo I just finished watching Braveheart, the Best Picture winner in 1995, in which swords and other sharp devices are prominently feature. Their budget for fake blood must have been astronomical!

It was up against Apollo 13, Babe, Il Postino: The Postman, and Sense & Sensibility for Best Picture, and ultimately won 5 Academy Awards, as well as other awards. I would have chosen Apollo 13, but that’s just me. And Babe was too cute for words.

Was it any good? According to esteemed internet research site Wikipedia, Braveheart was one of the most historically inaccurate movies ever, and they proceed to list the inaccuracies. That was interesting, because when I was a kid, you might have seen such a movie in history if the teacher didn’t have anything else planned. OK, maybe not THIS one, as the gore factor is high, but you get my drift.

As a story (never mind the battles), for me, it was ok. Freedom and loyalty were predominant themes, with an affair with a princess thrown in. A princess that, in real history, was only 3 years old when William Wallace, the title character played by Mel Gibson, was doing his thing. Kings and noblemen were horrible to their children, and just about everyone else. Battle cries could stir the blood of men who were about to turn around and go home, sensible men that they were.

Bottom Line: I was knitting during most of the movie so I didn’t have to watch the slicing and dicing, stabbing and spearing. I had to fast forward through the final torture scene, which lasted way too long in my opinion. I don’t care if the real William Wallace was or was not drawn and quartered, I did not need to see the torture. I will not voluntarily watch it again. That’s all I have to say. Just remember, as proclaimed by William Wallace on the battlefield:

They may take away our lives, but they will never take our freedom.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

