No Escape from Reality

Is this just real life?

Is this just fantasy?

Caught in a landslide

No escape from reality

~Freddie Mercury

 

In the land of the Magic Kingdom, the horrific happened, Mr. Mercury. There is no escape from this reality.

Mr. Dylan, how many times can a man turn his head, and pretend that he just doesn’t see? How many deaths will it take til he knows that too many people died?

Too many.

The answer, my friend, is blowin’ in the wind

The answer is blowin’ in the wind.

~Bob Dylan

 

Not just in Orlando, but around the world, too many are dying. Dying in terrorist attacks, and attacks from those they thought loved them. Dying for lack of health care, clean water, and medicine. Dying in wars and because of wars, stranded far from the land they love. Dying in ways that we cannot even imagine.

Will we overcome one day? Will we all be free, Mr. King? I want to believe.

Deep in my heart,

I do believe,

We shall overcome some day.

~1960s Civil Rights Movement anthem

 

Will that day be in my lifetime? Will my grandchild, Margot, see that day?

I don’t know the answer. This time terror and hate struck close to home, but everyday I pray for the world, everyday I pray for peace. It’s an impossible order, but I pray that no one has to die for who they are or for what they believe.

I have hope, because the alternative is unacceptable.

 

 

One thought on “No Escape from Reality

  1. My heart breaks. I must stay away from media for a bit and look for that hope and maybe listen to some music with hopeful lyrics. In addition to the Beatles (McCartney /Lennon) Love Love Love. How about an exerpt from this John Lennon tune.:

    Imagine all the people
    Living life in peace… You,..

    You may say I’m a dreamer
    But I’m not the only one
    I hope someday you’ll join us
    And the world will be as one

    Even if you diasagree with references to a world with no religion and no countries and no possessions it’s hard to ignore how many wars/fights/hatred are in the name of religion/countries and possessions…

    thank you for your beautiful writing Ellen!

    Like

Leave a Reply

