What I’ve been up to — reading-wise and otherwise

What I have not been up to, obviously, is writing on this blog. Every week, I pledge to write at least 2 posts, and every week, I’m lucky if I manage to get even one. Yeah write? Yeah right… hasn’t really happened. But they do have this big super challenge coming up and if I just gather up the courage to register, then there’s that. Only those writings can’t be published right away. Still.

So on the otherwise front, I’ve been knitting and sewing for little Margot, and visiting her in Virginia, too. Babies are awesome in every sense of the word.

The Reading Front

I have been reading. Some from my list challenge and some not. Woohoo. I’ll make this short and and sweet.

The Little Prince, Antoine de Saint-Exupery. A children’s book published in 1943 only children can understand.

One sees clearly only with the heart. What is essential is invisible to the eyes.

~says the fox to the Little Prince

The Picture of Dorian Gray, Oscar Wilde, 1890. Everyone has heard of Oscar Wilde, haven’t they? According to this recent Wall Street Journal article, his literary star is rising again. This Irish playwright and writer of epigrams only published one novel and this was it. Dorian Gray exists in several versions, both censored and uncensored, with themes of beauty, decadence and duplicity. I really liked it.

The books that the world calls immoral are the books that show the world its own shame.

~The Picture of Dorian Gray

Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen, 1813. What is it about Jane Austen? Everyone loves her or so it seems. At least all women do from what I understand. She is a fine writer, and this is a good book, perhaps I just don’t know enough about her and her writing. I did read this in college, though I had forgotten. I still have my copy that has parts highlighted, and it wouldn’t have happened unless I had been in a class. This is Austen’s novel with Mr. Darcy.

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.

~Pride and Prejudice

 

Leave a Reply

