Resist the Urge

nakedtree

December can be a crazy time of year for people because coupled with different holiday traditions (pick your’s), it’s the end of the year. Students have projects and finals, business people have deals they want to finish by year-end, and well, I’m sure there is a lot more stuff, but I don’t really have time to do the research. I still have Christmas shopping to do, menus to plan, gifts to wrap and parties to attend and, well, you get the idea.

On top of all the busy-ness, I have always had a deep-seeded hatred of winter. It’s the time of year when I would be happiest curled up under soft blankets with a book or watching a movie, sipping on hot chocolate and eating multitudes of Christmas cookies and candies. Oh, yes, add a dog or three sidling up next to me so that we’re all cozy together.

Even living in the southeastern United States is not enough to overcome the desire to flee to some mythical warmer clime, sipping umbrella drinks on the beach, warm ocean water lapping at my toes. But I Must Resist. Fight that urge.

Jolted back to reality as I look at my naked Christmas tree, half-emptied boxes of decorations strewn haphazardly about and wondering what to bring to a pot-luck tomorrow, I take stock of my blessings, ground myself in the present and resolve to enjoy this time of year because I have so much to be thankful for and life is too short to run away. The grass is never greener.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Resist the Urge

Leave a Reply

