Book Report: All the Light We Cannot See (no spoilers)

all_the_light_we_cannot_see_doerr_novelThe Modern Mrs. Darcy 2017 Reading Challenge has begun and my first book was not the one I originally said would be first, but one falling in the Reading for Fun Group: a book recommended by someone with great taste. All the Light We Cannot Seeby Anthony Doerr.

This book was recommended to me a while ago by my friend with great taste in books, Julie. I had it on hold at my library, so when it became available, I scooped it up, and put the other book aside for later. All the Light won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction in 2015 so it fits in that category, but at least right now, in the very beginning, I don’t want to have any books doing double category duty. We’ll see how I feel about that in December.

Read this book. It has scene after scene after scene of beautiful writing and a compelling story. The story takes place during World War II and alternates between the story of a blind French girl whose mother is dead and father that takes care of her, and a young German orphan boy who lives with his sister and other orphans under the care of Frau Elena. Orphanage would be too grand a word for the place they live.

There is almost no way to say any more about the story without spoiling it, as each little nugget of information has meaning and purpose. If you want to see what I mean, you will just have to read it.

 

2 thoughts on “Book Report: All the Light We Cannot See (no spoilers)

  1. I am glad you enjoyed it. I am reading a totally different kind of book now but it has me thinking of you. I am pretty sure you gave me your copy of Bel Canto by Anne Patchett which I enjoyed many years ago. I am reading her newest book, Commonwealth and should finish today or tomorrow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

